Link Offer - Unsolicited emails - Automated Message

Recently, started receiving emails (automated one’s) with different website url’s that belongs to me and offering $4800/month with email subject - I have visited your website *url* - I do not want to tell about that company (.ca) and give free advertisement - but they will send your URL and say it has good traffic rank and link popularity.

Other is, a person named, D L (I am not specifying the complete last name) -sends an Interesting Business offer, that too as a reminder mail.

***
Hi,

I hope you are well and remember me from my last email. If not, allow me to remind you. After coming across your site yourwebsiteurl.com while doing some browsing on Google, I found it somewhat related to the subject of my sites. That is why I offered to buy spot for text-links on your site.

Do come back to me on this if you would like to hear more.
***

We should not forget there might be legitimate offers, most of them will be spam (new trend)

How do they do that?

1. Collect emailid from the whois registrar of the domain name and spam it.
2. Collect from your own website if its specified in some url.
3. Gather data (search data) - perform query in Google/MSN/YAHOO and then collect the url’s for those keywords, then follow step 1.
4. With the collected data, they have automated emails generated by an executable that plugs in the appropriate urls and sends the mail out.

What do they benefit:
1. Free traffic
2. New business
3. Quick way of forming links
4. Collect email of people who replies and sell that CD’s
5. Again spam them with marketing emails.

If you read carefully, you will definitely get to know, whether is it a normal correspondence and remember if its too good to be true, then it is. That said, there are good websites for checking link price calculator online - you can check your url and make sure how much you could ask for, it is based on popularity, traffic and other factors such as PageRank, SERP’s etc.,

Update on April 25

: The person that I mentioned D L, seems to be legitimate unlike others. I am not sure about his business or marketing strategies, but he is a real person rather an automated spam machine.

Leave a Comment